BNC and Café Mocha partners up to honor music legends throughout the ages

BNC and Café Mocha partners up to honor music legends throughout the ages


‘Salute THEM Awards’ at National Museum of African American Music

Themed ”Soundtrack of Our Lives,” the Salute THEM Awards was the second in a series of award ceremonies this year.

BNC and Café Mocha Radio partnered up to celebrate Black Music Month with the second installment in a series honoring legends in music throughout the decades.

Related Articles:

The virtual event was hosted at National Museum of African American Music, which recently re-opened in Nashville, Tennessee after a multimillion-dollar renovation. The structure, which houses state-of-the-art virtual exhibitions, cascade through the impact that Black music has had on history as well as culture.

“What we have here is something exciting; 56,000 square feet of information, data, celebration of African American music, and what’s so different about our museum is that we have a timeline that is based on history, and it talks about the intersectionality of history and music,” said NMAAM Brand Marketing VP Tuwisha Rogers-Simpson.

The night’s host, comedian and radio personality, Loni Love, alongside Broadway actor, Saint Aubyn, opens the show with a brief presentation of the impact of Black music on the culture of not only the nation, but the world.

The honorees featured tonight represented a wide variety of musical genres and components that create the culture.

The honorees include:

Sly Stone, musician, songwriter and record producer, Legend Award

June Ambrose, award-winning creative director, stylist, costume designer and entrepreneur, Woman of Style Award

Jamal Josef, celebrity choreographer and author, Champion for Children Award

Earth, Wind & Fire, six-time Grammy Award-winning male group, Creating the Legacy Award

Billie Woodruff, award-winning music video and film director, Director’s Award

Dr. Bobby Jones, singer, TV host and “Ambassador of Gospel Music,” Spirit Award

Patrice Rushen, Grammy Award-nominated jazz pianist and producer, Trailblazer Award

Ludacris, three-time Grammy Award-winning hip-hop artist, actor and philanthropist, Game Changer Award

Darlene Love, legendary songstress, Soul Solidarity Award

Tribute performances for the virtual event included 2021 ACM Awards New Male Artist of the Year Jimmie Allen, multi-Stella Award nominee and GMA Dove Award winner Maranda Curtis; and multiple Grammy-nominated songwriting and production duo Louis York. The awards were co-hosted by Café Mocha Gracie Award Winners Yo-Yo Whittaker, Loni Love and Ain’t Too Proud Broadway star Saint Aubyn.

Also, special thanks from other current stars, such as Grammy and Oscar winner singer-songwriter H.E.R. sent a special message to Sly Stone of the revolutionary Sly and the Family Stone for all that he has done for Black music.